A birthday card of a different kind.

This is what I want to say but can’t fit it all on one card.


First, I am so proud to call you my little sister. No matter what challenges come your way you never give up and you fight your way through. You’re a beautiful person, inside and out, even though sometimes you can be a little nasty when you’re mad, but everyone’s guilty of that, you are human after all.

 
Second, I am sorry I messed up our relationship. When mom went overseas and it was just me, you, and dad I immediately jumped into mom’s role because I wanted to protect you. I never meant to get you in trouble, I just wanted to make sure you didn’t get involved in anything that would hurt you. I know it wasn’t my business, and it definitely was not my job to be your mother, but understand I never wanted to replace mom. I was also afraid that you’d make the same mistakes I made, but we all need to learn from our mistakes, I just didn’t want you to get hurt. I’m still lost trying to explain what I felt at that time, maybe one day you’ll understand.

 
Third, I’m glad our relationship is being fixed. I’m so happy to have a little sister like you that I can call my best friend but also a butthole all in the same breath. I remember mom and dad asking me what I wanted for Christmas when I was four and I said I wanted a little sister, not a little brother, but a little sister. And I got you. I love our dumb inside jokes that only we get, and because no one else knows our crazy family better than we do.

 
Fourth, You have grown to be a strong, gorgeous woman who doesn’t take shit from no one, don’t you ever change for anyone, because no one is worth changing yourself for. If someone loves you, it should be for who you are, not for what they want you to be. Don’t ever feel pressure that you have to be or need to do something you don’t want to do. It’s your life.

 

Fifth and finally, I can’t believe how much you’ve grown. It seems like just yesterday that you were the little three year old I was pushing around in a toy dump truck around the kitchen. I know it’s been hard for you trying to figure things out, but you’re now nineteen you have plenty of time to figure out what you want to do. I hope whatever you choose to do you love it and most importantly, love yourself. I’ll always be there to support you no matter what you do. (Hell, you could build a grass hut and live in the desert and I’d be sending care packages of Nerds Rope and Razzles to you.)

You are my best friend, like it or not, there are no return policies. (Trust me I’ve tried.) And no, you’re not adopted.

I love you to the moon and back.

Your older sister,
Courtney

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

